top of page

Adventures of Sophia Loren

Doxie Diva Extraordinaire

  • Writer's pictureSophia Loren, Ph. Dog

I'm 17 Today!

I am 17 years old today - November 20th! Today I celebrated with my Grammy, Mommy, Sisser Greta, and Tom Bentley. It has been a year of slowing down for me and dealing with my helicopter mom. Mommy watches me like a hawk these days. It's really annoying for me, but I know Mommy only does it because she loves me and wants to make sure I'm ok.


They say I have "doggy dementia" but I don't think so. Just because I randomly stare at walls and get stuck under furniture doesn't mean I have dementia. I'm just...exploring. I have also started my own "silver sneakers" walking club. It's just me. I waddle around the house back and forth from room to room. Mommy says it's "sundowners." I'm just keeping my circulation going! I have what they call farsightedness. That means I have trouble seeing things up close. For the moment, it hasn't caused too much trouble. I also don't hear so well anymore, but that's great because I don't have to listen to Mommy nag at me! LOL!


I have lost some weight. I've always been a picky eater, but now I'm even worse. I might eat all of my food on a good day. The great thing is that I get whatever I want, as long as it doesn't upset my tummy. Mommy goes once a week to a restaurant called Cowboy Chicken to buy my open fire roasted chicken and I LOVE it! She tries to ruin it by putting my supplements in it. I no longer use the ramps up to the couch and the big bed. Especially after I had a scary fall off of the bed! Mommy bought me a royal couch. I LOVE my couch. I sleep on it at night. I also have my big dog bed in my doggy room. Mom put nightlights all over the house so I can get around when I silver sneaker during the night. I try to use my wee wee pads, but sometimes I miss. Mommy never gets mad though. She said she is buying stock in wee wee pads and pet floor cleaner.


Overall, I'm in pretty good shape for my age! I still get energized when my sisser gets excited. When sissy barks, sometimes I'll bark too. I don't know what we're barking at, but it's fun to join in. She keeps me young at heart. When Momy comes home from work I run through the houes! These days my favorite things are snackies and naps. Tonight, after my birthday dinner, we ate some of my carrot cake with cream cheese icing. It was sooo good I licked my plate!


Happy Birthday to Me!

Tom Bentley, Greta, and Me Enjoying Cake!

Birthday Naps!

Well, that's it for here! Stay tuned for more adventures!

Luvs & Lix,

Sophia Loren


© Crista K. Banks
bottom of page