top of page

Adventures of Sophia Loren

Doxie Diva Extraordinaire

  • Writer's pictureSophia Loren, Ph. Dog

Celebrating the Life of Sophia Loren

Updated: Apr 13

I first met Sophi at a retired breeder's home. She was two years old and the tiniest full grown Dachshund I had ever seen. She was debilitatingly shy and standoffish. She needed some individualized attention and so did I. I had recently gotten divorced and my friends urged me to get a dog. My best friend and my mom kept after me. They convinced me to "just go check it out". After spending a few hours with Sophi and seeing that her birth date was the same as mine, I knew we were meant to be.


Sophi instantly became my everything and I hers. Her shyness quickly turned into royal diva-ness and I gave into every whim with one look into those big, brown, soulful eyes. She has lived quite the life. Sophi has lived in Florida, Kentucky, and Texas. She has traveled to France, England, and several states. She has ridden in/on busses, trains, eurotunnel, subways, taxis, planes, boats, and long horn cattle. We met a wonderful group of human and doggy friends through the Chihuahuas of Tampa Bay. With that group, we made many lifelong friends and had many adventures that included Christmas train rides, sunset boat trips, resort vacations, boutique crawls, pool parties, shopping excursions, tea time, 5Ks, kayaking, yappy hours, and more.


When I started grad school to earn my Ph.D., Sophi was by my side earning her Ph.Dog. She accompanied me to Europe for my dissertation research and discovered her royal heritage. We created some very special memories there. As I began my work as a professor first in Kentucky and then in Texas, Sophi started slowing down. She still enjoyed her stroller rides and exploring outside with her Yorkie sister Greta, but her pace was a lot slower.

At 17 and a half years old, Sophi let me know that she had experienced everything she needed to in this life and it was time for her to go. She has given me absolutely so much joy. She is my heart and I made a promise to never ever let her suffer. Though I will never be ready to say goodbye, I know she is.


Dear Sophia~

Thank you for loving me unconditionally. Thank you for getting me through some of the hardest days of life when I didn't think I could make it another day. Thank you for celebrating the best days and good times. You have left a pawprint forever on my heart.

Love,

Mommy



© Crista K. Banks
bottom of page